Two.

As much as I want to forget that night, I want to remember it. 

Sometimes, when I sit in an empty bus, staring out the window, scenes play in my head, scenes so fantastical that I can’t tell which is real and which is just imagination anymore.

But this night, I remember. And every single time I wish I would forget it.

You see, the night has a way of making you believe that you can do anything, and it will be a secret forever. It tricks you into trusting it. 

I want to remember as much as I want to forget. 

The way everything I had ever felt spilled and overflowed, a frenzy, running out of containers.

And all to a complete stranger. 

I want to remember as much as I want to forget. 

How every person who saw us smiled, pretending to be oblivious to our intertwined hands, and your face inches from mine.

Knowing that it would be the headlines in tomorrow’s papers.

But most of all I want to remember, as much as I want to forget, a single line said in a drunken stupor…

“You two make a lovely couple”.

I want to remember. I want to forget.

I wish I could do both.

Leave a Reply

